Dream Catcher

“And so she decided to start living the life she imagined…”

Dreams: what motivates each and every one of us to push through and achieve success. If we didn’t have dreams then what are we fighting for day in and day out?
But how do we know when we have reached or achieved our dreams..?

Ever since I was 13 years of age I dreamed of becoming a dancer. That’s all I wanted to do when I grew up, dance. I wanted to make it to the “real” stage, under the bright lights, have the big roles, and hear the roaring applause…sigh… *insert heart eyes emoji here* Seems kinda perfect, huh?

And then, within 2 years I boarded the injury
train and lost sight of those dreams
.

It took about 3 years for me to grasp onto those young, teenage year aspirations once again and try to make them a reality. 3 years of my life was spent doubting myself and settling for the ‘next-best-thing’ in my*  life.  I continued working hard in class (when I was healthy enough to attend) and kept trying to work through my injuries in hopes that a dance degree would be on my resume in a few years… But for what? For me, I had no purpose in getting a dance degree. What was going to use it for? And for that, I didn’t have an answer… At the end of those three years it took lots of convincing from others who believed in me for me to realize that it  might still be an attainable goal… The reality? I had given up on my dreams and completely lost sight of myself along the way.

Now though, can I say that I’ve reached my dreams? I can officially tell people that I am dancing professionally in a company in a (fairly) big city, and for that I am so very grateful. But is this current place in my life what I worked so hard for? I pushed through barrier after barrier trying to find myself as a dancer again to get here? Is there more out there? Of course there is ! But still the question remains: have I caught my dream? Dreams are ever changing, evolving, developing, so is there truly a distinctive point where we can answer ‘yes’ to the aforementioned question? I have made it to the stage….but is it the “real” one? I am dancing under the lights…but are they the “brightest”? I have roles…but are they the “big” ones? There sure is applause…but is it even for me?! I know that I’ve made it somewhere, and I hope that my journey will continue on, but at the end of the day do I have closure on how far I have come?

Look ma, I've made it [to the city] Location: Minneapolis, MN --Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset--
Look ma, I’ve made it [to the city]
Location: Minneapolis, MN
–Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset–
*disclaimer: I do not believe in any way, shape or form, that the college route is the ‘next-best-thing’ for a dancer. Many dancers take this path and have high rates of success, but for me, personally, college was the plan on the back burner for many years. As I continued to fight injury and setbacks it started to become more of what I thought would be my furthest destination in the dance world

2 thoughts on “Dream Catcher

  1. Great post. I like the layout – use of colour and font etc – and you have an easy-to-read writing style and draw people in. While you have dancing very much in your sights as your dream i would encourage you to think even bigger than that and see people as the thing you want to aim at – maybe it’s the audience,, maybe it’s those you dance with, maybe it’s friends and family but dancing will come and go [and excel at it while you can] but i firmly believe it is the lives you influence and encourage and challenge and love around you that will determine how successful your dreams have been when you are looking back on it all one day.

    Keep on
    love brett fish

    Like

Leave a Reply

