Tragedy

#prayforparis   #inSolidarityWithMizzou

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” To this day, especially in times of “disaster,” I remember my mother’s words and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers – so many caring people in this world.” -Fred Rogers

When I read about tragedy, war, shootings, bomb threats, racist threats/actions, etc. it makes me really really sad to be living in the society that we do. The fact that so many tragic events are happening each and every day makes me sick.

I remember as a kid there was always one person who would answer: “You come across a genie who grants you three wishes. What do you wish for?” with: “World Peace.”     As a child I never fully understood what that meant. I knew that it meant the world was at peace but not to what extreme our world is currently not in peace. Watching the news makes me depressed. So I don’t. I realize that oftentimes they don’t emphasize the stories with happy endings but instead those that pull at our heart strings, but nonetheless I can do without all of that sorrow in my heart. I just wish everyone could come to an agreement. Why do we need war? Why do we need to fight? It is all some nasty power/land struggle that I feel could be solved if we were to actually do something about it. We blame the government. We blame other countries. Shouldn’t we blame ourselves? There is so much that could be done differently each and every day to make our society more peaceful. Less resistant. And more coexistent. Why haven’t we learned from our past? All of the people who have sacrificed their lives…for what? Do we feel safer at the end of the day? Have we made steps? Well of course… but there are many long strides we have yet to overcome.

I know that I’m just one person. Just one voice. And my opinions don’t really matter in the end, but doesn’t everyone just want to get along? (I realize I sound like a 6 year old who wants peace among my friends.) Will there ever be a day that we don’t need our troops fighting for our freedom in other countries? We don’t need to be scared to get on an airplane? Take a vacation? Visit countries and families and friends overseas? Attend our schools without fear of being attacked? We can just coexist peacefully and not worry about our brothers, mothers, and friends who are still fighting for all of us back home to be able to feel safe from other countries when we barely feel safe within our own.

Leave a Reply

